Relaxing with madness

I don’t really know why I find this video so relaxing. It shouldn’t be relaxing, right? This is basically Claude Lelouch 1976 classic “C’était un rendez-vous” on bike, in NYC, without a story and without the engine noise replace with Bandwitch by Broken Social Scene. However, I tend to find that this mixture of crazy antics by those bikers, the seemingly smooth near misses and the ubercool soundtrack drives my brain to suave land.

It is strange, but I think it makes sense. Films like this should fire me into some sort of action, but they don’t. Modern life has nullified me. Our dull lives are so unbelievably stressful, in their mighty dullness, that I need to see this kind of stuff to release some adrenalin – in the comfort of my home. This is one of the great achievements of our society; dull stuff is so incredibly boring but terribly exhausting, and only complete madness can relax us. So next time someone comes up with the theory that it is violence on TV that makes people kill other people, tell them: “No, it is the dullness of our lives that forces people to go mad”. Enjoy and relax.

Leave a Reply

